Entertainment, Video Games

The Indie Library expected for The Nintendo Switch

With the Nintendo Switch out and millions playing The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, there are still more asking:

Is there anything else?
Based on an aggregate schedule collected after each statement about the console, The Switch seems to have an interesting line-up for games this coming year. What peaks my interest the most is the inclusion of a great variety of games created by third party developers that already have major backing in the PC market.

Such games include:

  • Binding of Isaac: Afterbirth+
  • Cave Story
  • Yooka-Laylee
  • Terraria
  • Stardew Valley
  • and Enter the Gungeon

I haven’t even mentioned how Shovel Knight: Treasure Trove released first day on the North American eShop. The waves they’ve made in the world of independent game development have opened up a whole new market to work in. I’m excited for the future of the Switch, even if I have to wait 6 months to play. This will probably end up being true for some of my most anticipated games: Yooka-LayleeBinding of Isaac: Afterbirth+, and Enter the Gungeon.

maxresdefault

The recent resurgence of 3D Platform games has excited me as I was never understood them well growing up. This may be do in part to the clunkier controls of console’s past but now I have no excuse to play such games as Yooka-Laylee. Developed by the team behind Rare Studio’s biggest games (Perfect Dark, Banjo-Kazooie, etc.) They’ve come back to reintroduce today’s public to how a Collectathon should be made. From the little game play I’ve seen the worlds look interesting and the characters interact and fight flawlessly.

header

I have been fascinated by Edmund McMillen’s work on this game for many years now. Since its original Flash release in 2011 its been making waves in the gaming community both for its roguelike elements and the risqué religious motifs. Nonetheless it became a cult classic and since then I’ve done my best to keep up with every new update McMillen releases for it. Though I’ve put many hours into the game already I’m going to buy the game on the Switch because of how mobile the platform is. The only time I played The Binding of Isaac outside my home was when I carried my large, clunky laptop with me. Needless to say I’d rather keep from straining my back and instead replay the classic title on something more portable.

35549_Enter_the_Gungeon.jpg

Enter the Gungeon stole my heart the first time I played it. The game play was crisp, the artwork beautiful, and the gun puns surprisingly charming. Above all these is its steep learning curve, even to this day I have yet to beat the game (though I blame that on lack of hours playing). Its a top-down shooter in a similar vein to that of Binding of Isaac but with a much higher focus on dodge rolling, cover, and maneuvering about your enemies’ attacks. When I saw the Development team’s tweet announcing its release for The Switch this year I knew that was another deciding factor for my purchase of the console.

There are so many more games I have yet to describe my excitement for due to their official release on the Switch. The fact that Nintendo is dipping into the Indie scene so early makes me very hopeful for the future of the console and what more could come of it. The future months will be bright with anticipation.

1 thought on “The Indie Library expected for The Nintendo Switch”

Leave a Reply

