Mishmash

Happy Father’s Day

We here at Babble Royale would like to thank fathers everywhere for the love and support they have given to their children. In honor of this holiday, a few of our writers wanted to share a favorite memory of their father with everyone:

 

Noah Alvarez

 

During elementary school, I was starting to get really into sports. I watched my first world series in 2001, watched Kobe and the Lakers 3-peat in the early 2000’s and around the same I was old enough to start playing football. My dad was a huge sports fan and his favorite one to watch and play was football.

In 2003, I began playing pop warner football but my decision to play was influenced earlier that year in January.

The Raiders had reached the Super Bowl that year and my dad was a huge fan. On top of that, the Super Bowl was going to be held in San Diego, CA that year which was only a two hour drive from our home. But because Super Bowl tickets are so expensive, the next best thing to do was go to the NFL Experience and my dad had purchased two tickets for us to go to Qualcomm stadium the saturday before the big game.

I remember waking up early, driving to San Diego and upon arriving, I was amazed at all the different attractions that were set up. I was in paradise.

My dad walked around and took me to all the booths and events they had set up for kids. I got to punt, pass and kick at the youth field, we met former players and coaches at different booths, bought Raiders and Bucaneers – because I was rooting for them – merchandise and to top it off my dad purchased an official Super Bowl XXXVII football that we later got signed by soon to be Hall of Famer Shannon Sharpe.

The whole time at Qualcomm Stadium I was just in awe and after that day, I knew I wanted to play football. Sure enough it became, and still is, my favorite sport.

 

Jordana Diaz

 

My dad has always been one of my biggest heroes. He’s always been like a Superman to me, even when he doesn’t know what he’s doing, I’d put my trust in him. I know he’s not perfect, he certainly isn’t without his flaws, but that has never mattered to me. He will always be the best man on Earth in my eyes.

In comparison to a lot of my friends, he’s on the older side for a dad. As a kid I got mad at one of my ballet instructors for calling him my grandpa (this was because of his gray hair). True, he was much older but I never noticed his age. In my eyes I’ve always seen him as this energetic, hard working, carefree dad. I’ve always been thankful for this and believed this was because of his high school years as a surfer. Later on he would be drafted to go to Vietnam and it has always amazed me how well adjusted he is in comparison to some other veterans. He’s always told me tales of his time there and I probably shouldn’t have heard them at my young age but it helped me to better understand this man that was raising me. I admired him so much I wanted to know better what he went through so I ended up watching reruns of M.A.S.H. in an attempt to understand better. I don’t know how much it helped me but it made me more than grateful to see he survived and managed to do so well afterwards.

This man in my eyes has always been a really cool guy to put it simply. It’s hard to pick just one of my favorite memories but the one I’m most thankful for was the fact that he was the first person I went to a concert with. I’ve always been envious of the musicians he’s seen (Janis Joplin, Nancy Sinatra, Santana are just a few for example), and at 17 he took me to see Tegan and Sara. This had to have been around 07-08 so they were still relatively on the indie scene and he wasn’t all that familiar with them. All he knew was they were lesbian Canadian twins that played their own instruments. At this point in my life he was already retired, but he drove me all the way out to LA to see my favorite band.

And it was a blast. I had been apprehensive to go with him knowing there would be a large number of LGBT fans in the audience (this was before I was out although he knew for a long time about my eldest brother) and I didn’t know if he’d be uncomfortable or how he’d react. But he was the same as ever, he was too busy admiring the theater and checking out the audio system. The show started and I sang my heart out and my dad was there by me having an amazing time. He was so impressed by them and just the production of the show and I couldn’t have been happier. He heard me gush for hours about great the show was and he was happy because I was happy. That show meant a lot to me because it was the launch of my love for concerts and seeing live music. He’s part of the reason why radio has become such a huge part of my life now.

This is my first Father’s Day without him. I wish I could see him and be with him because I miss him every day that passes. He’s one of my closest friends, a mentor to me, and my idol. In all honesty I think the world would be a better place if everyone was fortunate to have a dad like him. He helped raise my brothers, two guys I also admire and idolize and he married my mother, a woman that’s always sacrificed everything for her family without asking for much in return. He’s everything I aspire to be, just a hard working, all around amazing human being. To me he’ll always be the most interesting man in the world and I’m not just saying that because he looks like the Dos Equis guy.

 

Albert Delgado

 

Growing up, I was in no way, shape, or form an athletic person. Despite my parent’s best efforts, I simply wasn’t very good at sports. From soccer to basketball to t-ball, I simply never found my niche; at least, until junior high. My uncle began to work at Haggin Oaks Golf Complex and was able to golf at the range for free. After just a few tries, I was hooked on golf and ended up playing for my high school varsity golf team for all four years.

One of the best things about golfing was having the chance to play with my family and friends. Before I started golfing, the only sports I knew my family would play was baseball or flag football (or some sort of playground sport like dodgeball). Once golf came into the picture, I realized that it had an important place in the history of my family, and my cousins and uncles would start playing with me. But the most fun I had in golf was with my dad.

He was (and still isn’t) the best golfer around, but getting the chance to hang out with him for a few hours playing a game that I love really meant a lot to me. We both started watching the PGA Tour and began finding favorite golfers (used to be Tiger Woods. Now, Jason Day.) The best time I had with golf and my dad was going to a practice round of the 2009 President’s Cup in San Francisco. My parents felt it was important for my siblings and I to experience major events in our chosen sports. My sister got to see the women’s national team play back when they were hugely popular. My brother got to watch two back-to-back MLB playoff games (and see his favorite player, Ivan Rodriguez). I got to see some of the best golfers in the world play, and I got to do this with my dad.

As time keeps passing, I realize how much I am becoming my father (for better or worse). He has been such a huge influence in my life and I am grateful for everything he has done for me. I love you, dad.

 

 

Happy Father’s Day to everyone!

(P.S. Mom’s, we didn’t forget about you and we will do this for you come next year.)

1 thought on “Happy Father’s Day”

Leave a Reply

